Days of our Lives

Quick post folks (because I’m really supposed to be working but feel the need to procrastinate).

I was lucky. The first time I ever wanted to say “my childhood” in te reo, someone was there who taught me to say it nicely so I never had ugly phrases like “tōku tamarikitanga” or worse “tōku rangatahitanga” pass these lips. Phew.

I ahau e tamariki ana …
When I was a child …

I a ia e ora ana …
When he was alive …

I haven’t been so lucky with phrases like “my life” or “my entire life”. Every time I’ve wanted to say that, I’ve avoided it because I knew that my translation was ugly un-Māori.

I tōku oranga katoa …
My whole life …

I’m a little embarrassed to even put that in writing it’s so clunky. Fortunately none of you have to ever have to worry because upokopakaru is here to the rescue. (Well actually I think it was Apriana Ngata who wrote this but I can’t quite remember).

I ngā rā katoa o tōku ao …
In all the days of my life …

Gorgeous isn’t it? When we think about the word ‘life’ and how we use it in English, there are two main kinds. Firstly there’s the spark of life, the concept of existence and being animated in the world, i.e. te ora. Secondly, there is the length of time that we have existed in Te Ao Mārama, i.e. ngā rā o tōu ao, the days of your world. This is the life we are talking about here.

Koinei te rā tuatahi o tōku ao hou
This is the first day of the rest of my life

Kua pau (i a ia) ngā rā o tōna ao te whawhai
He fought every day of his life
lit. All the days of his life were consumed with fighting

It also reminded me of another salutation I found in He Pitopito Kōrero nō te Perehi Māori (and it’s probably as good a place as any to end this post and get back to work).

Kia neke atu ō rā ki te ora roa
Live a long and healthy life

Mauri ora e hoa mā.

7 thoughts on “Days of our Lives

  1. Kia ora te Upokopakaru   I was wondering if you had done a post on different ways off saying “… thinking about …”?   In English and in our lives today we use lots of variations of ‘thinking about’ ranging from seriously considering something to levels of vaguely contemplating.   Here’s a few examples 1.  “I was thinking about you” or “She was thinking about the problem” – a direct concentrated focus on one thing. 2. “I was thinking about going to the beach this afternoon, still not sure though” – more like contemplating a possibility. This is really common in English and maybe more common today than say 100yrs ago, as most people have a broader range of options e.g. “I was thinking of going to uni next year, I could go to Australia maybe?” (Na AKO, “e mea ana au ki te haere ki tatahi) 3. “I thought you could do this (but obviously not” – a mistaken thought/belief that has no be contradicted (I pooheehee au ….)  4. “I was thinking about our holiday last year” – to remember 5. “I’ve mulled it over” or “I tossed it about in my head” – focused on one thing, but it is complex or lots of things to consider so a bit of “rangirua” and requiring a long period of consideration.  As a reo learner it was pretty obvious “I whakaaro au …” didn’t work for “I thought you were leaving (but you’re still here) or “I te whakaaro au ….” “I was thinking about (possibly) go to the beach”   http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/think?s=t   The online dictionary has 28 entries for “think” as an intransitive and transitive verb, as an adjective, as a noun, as a verbal phrase and as a idiom. Like many words with multiple uses and meanings as a language learner you might learn the most common use/meaning then transfer that newly learnt word to all the uses/meanings of the word, when the new language actually has distinct words for each of the meanings/uses covered by a single word in your first language.   Another example is “dream”, which can be something you do in your sleep (moemoea) and something you hope for in the future (wawataa, tuumanako, hiahia).   So you don’t have moemoea for the future, for your moko, or a whare moemoea.     The misuse of moemoea might be another topic though, i’ll go look through your posts

Leave a Reply

