Nice to see, soft to touch

As part of my campaign to give props to the elegance of simple sentences, here’s a common little structure that I used in an earlier post. My challenge to you is to try and use it (or at least think it) each day this week.

He hoiho tere ki te oma
A fast (running) horse

Me he anahera ki te moe
Sleeps like an angel

Don’t dismiss this type of structure because it’s simple… it’s elegant. I’m always hearing simple sentiments being over-complicated. It can also be used with senses or sensory organs.

He makawe maheni ki te rongo.
[Her] hair is soft to the touch.

He wharepaku ki te titiro.
It looks like it’s an outhouse.

He kōrero pai ki te taringa.
That’s a lovely thing to hear.

I often use ‘he’ sentences with ‘ki ahau’ or ‘ki ōku whakaaro’, but why be dull when you can be a little more interesting?

He rangi pai ki ahau
I think it’s a nice tune.

He rangi pai ki ōku taringa
I think it’s a nice tune

I admit that I’m a bit free with the translations here but I’m sure you get the idea. A simple little trick to make day-to-day language a wee bit pretty.

He piro ki tōku ihu
It smells off to me

Ko “Te Rangihaeata” ki ōku karu
I think it reads “Te Rangihaeata”

Me he taratara ki ōku waewae
It’s like I’m walking on spikes

One thought on “Nice to see, soft to touch

  1. Some of the endings are superfluous pea. The hoiho and oma one looks incorrect to me somehow. If it’s piro I’d just say ‘he piro! I have heard that if it’s in your opinion, start with ‘hei au.’ this is a Cool post and blog!

Leave a Reply

